Florida-West Coast

Did you use a wedding planner?

So here is my problem: I'm new to Tampa and am still learning the lay-of-the-land. My fiancee and I have decided that it would be easier (and more fun) to get married locally as opposed to going back to Pennsylvania, where we both grew up. The trouble is that our families, my bridesmaids, and our closest friends are all up north. This means that we have no extra help down here for planning (though my mom is going to fly in for a few key decisions in the next few months). We're looking at about 90-100 people at the wedding in about 8 months.

I'm debating whether or not to hire a planner to help us out. I'm nervous about not knowing the area very well and not having an MOH, MOB or close friend to bounce ideas off of. Has anyone done this? Was it worth the cost? Do you think you needed the help or could you plan on your own?

Re: Did you use a wedding planner?

• edited December 2011
    Hiring a planner will help with local vendors and help you find places thats for sure (and may save you some money with negotiations with vendors), but you have pleanty of time to do some exploring yourself! Thats also what these boards are for! We will give you suggestions for anything you may need and thier are tons of reviews from brides.

A friend of mine hired a planner for her wedding in October, and the planner has taken care of everything, and all she had to do was ok things in a few meetings. I enjoyed the hunt for locations and decorations, and the DIY projects.

If you have the extra money and want totally stress free planning, look into one. You may be able to just get a few suggestions on big things for free in a consultation.

I'm glad I didnt get one, its made the process alot of fun, and alot more personal. I did however get a DOC to alleviate stress for my family and I for the big day.