Snarky Brides

Traveling without id?

Just wondering if anyone knows what you can do if you've lost your wallet in a remote destination and need to fly home?  I lost mine this weekend at a friend's wedding during the after party at some night club, so no hope of it turning up.  I had a flight back the next morning.  Fortunately there were enough people that had made the 8 hour drive from home town that I was able to catch a ride back with someone else instead of needing my flight to get home, but is there some type of process you go through if that happens to you so you could actually fly home if necessary?

And a psa for everyone; put the phone numbers from your credit cards in your phone and/or whatever online email service you might use, then if you do lose your wallet, and possibly your phone as well, you don't have to struggle to figure out how to call and cancel your cards.  I have a mastercard from a relatively obscure bank and it was a bitch finding the right number to call.

Married in Vegas - June 2011

Re: Traveling without id?

• Honestly, given how ridiculous TSA is, I seriously doubt there's anything you can do without proper picture ID. They damn sure ain't gonna let you on the plane without it, I'd bet my life on that. That sucks, but I'm glad you made it home.
    Whatever you hatters be hattin. -Tay Prince
  • Unfortunatly you would need to go to the DMV in the town you lost your ID in and ask them and explain to them you need to travel. Other than that I would call the Social security admin and explain your situation to see what they may want you to do. Plus if anything does happen with your ID , SSN, or credit cards they flag it for your protection. I had my purse stolen from me a few months ago so I know all to well about the process.. just not to sure about the out of town part :( Sorry this happened to you , the whole process is a pain in the butt!