Wedding Party

Picking my wedding party

Hello, I am new to The Knot, but I am here beacause I am planning our wedding and need as much advice as I can get to do this. I have a concern about my wedding party. How do you decide who to pick? 

I don't have many close friends. I have picked one of my friends as a bridesmaid (I don't feel close enough to her to ask her to be my matron of honor), but I am having a tough time deciding who should be my matron of honor. I have a sister and sister in law who I would like to be in the wedding party. This is where my issue comes in: I think I want my sister in law to be my matron of honor, but I think by asking her to be it versus my sister will frankly, anger my sister if I did not ask her to be my matron of honor. I feel like my sis-in-law could handle more of the planning and stress versus my sister. Do you guys think its okay to ask her to be my matron instead of my sister? Whats the best way to "break the news" to my sister? I want her to be a bridesmaid of course, but having to tell her that she isn't the matron of honor might be challenging. Any advice or words of wisdom or thoughts would be great! Thanks everyone! 

Re: Picking my wedding party

• First of all, you're selecting your wedding party WAY TOO SOON!  Slow down.  Come late summer next year, make your selections then.  The relationships between the two of them may change and your decision may be easier at that point.  You ultimately just need to choose who you're closer with.  And what kind of stress do you plan on putting your MOH under that you're even factoring that in?
  • NYCMercedesNYCMercedes member
    First Anniversary First Answer First Comment 5 Love Its
    edited December 2012