August 2013 Weddings

Weight Loss and The Dress. Uh-Oh!

I had my gown at the shop where I purchased for a little over a year now.  I picked it up last week in preparation for setting up my initial alteration appointment.   I've been working out like a maniac for the past two years and my concern about my gown was the amount of alterations I would need as a result of my weight loss.

I tried the gown on over the weekend and I did not have to zip it up to get in it.  I literally stepped in the dress still zipped and pulled it up.  It dropped off of me!  There's nothing to hold it up.  YAY I guess but BOO too as that means a whole lot of alterations.  

I called the seamstress I plan to use and she said come in ASAP.  Her fear is that there may be too much alterations needed due to my weight loss and I had the nerve to tell her I am not done.  I still plan on losing another 10 lbs by the end of this month.  

Anyone else lose a lot of weight and are worried about their gown?  My seamstress says there is a possibility that my gown will be ruined if an excessiave amount of alterations is needed.   

I worked really hard to get where I am and I feel like I messed up somehow. :(

Love is the ultimate superpower.   
It can make you weak and strong simultaneously.  

Re: Weight Loss and The Dress. Uh-Oh!

• doubleSS07doubleSS07 member
    5 Love Its First Anniversary Name Dropper First Comment
    edited April 2013
    I'm certainly no seamstress but I know when I ordered my dress they told me that they would take it in up to 3 sizes if necessary.  Generally for me a size is around 10lbs so I guess it would depend on how much you've lost.

Daisypath Anniversary tickers