Registry and Gift Forum
Options

Cookware confusion -- dont' laugh :)

We are working on registering for cookware. And I am so confused!! So many decisions to make!!! If you could offer me some advice it would be greatly apprecaitely -- don't laugh, I really have zero cooking experience!!!

1. We have decided on Calphalon Contemporary nonstick - comes with 2 skillets, a stock pot, a dutch oven, sautee pan and 2 sauce pans. Any additional add ons we should consider? Total beginner cooks remember!
2. Being that we chose nonstick and they cannot go in the oven, should I also get a cast iron dutch oven? Also, what exactly is the dutch oven and why does everyone love it so much?! I think I am confused because I have a pot called a dutch oven that comes with our pot set and I thought a dutch oven was a casserole dish ....
3. Speaking on cast iron -- why do people get cast iron pieces in addition to stainless or nonstick sets?? Which pieces should I consider getting in cast iron and why?
4. I am considered a roasting pan. But, there is no lid on the ones I have seen. My mom's roaster that she cooks our turkey and what not in is aluminum (I think) and has a lid. Am I missing something?

Thank you times a million!!!!! And okay, you can laugh a little. This is pathetic. 

Re: Cookware confusion -- dont' laugh :)

• Options
    1. One thing that we purchased in addition to what came with our set was a huge, heavy duty skillet.  We use it a lot when we are looking large amounts of things, like if we make fajitas and are cooking the chicken, peppers, and onions all together.  
    2. I have never used a dutch oven other than when I am camping, so I'm not much help there.
    3. I have no cast iron pieces, other than for camping, so I'm also not much help.  Honestly, I've never been cooking anything in my kitchen and thought, "I wish I had a cast iron dutch oven instead of this non-stick cookware."