Interracial Weddings

White Bride & Japanese Groom?

We are having some trouble planning,
We both want to include my family in America...but his family in Japan as well.
So, we thought instead of one big wedding, we would have 2 small cheap wedding in both countries. I'm not good at this, I was really hoping to use some traditional parts of the Japanese wedding and american wedding...like a mix of the two.. hm...anyone have any ideas?

Re: White Bride & Japanese Groom?

• edited April 2012
    Mizutamababy probably has the best advice for you.... Welcome to our board!
  • You are me! I am a white american and boy is Japanese from the land of the rising sun. We have the same concerns. I think we will have a big wedding in the US and a smaller one in Japan (where I hope to wear the traditional wedding kimono, etc).
    In terms of incorporating Japanese traditions in the US, we thought we would have a tea ceremony maybe the day before or morning of. We will probably also include the 9 sips of sake for the joining of the families. Of course you can include culture through food.
    You can also have touches at the ceremony and reception like having the program printed on a fan like the ones given out at festivals in the summertime.
    I will try to remember other things I was thinking of doing...

We never see other couples like us so this is exciting! lol
  • In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/cultural-wedding-boards_interracial-weddings_white-bride-japanese-groom?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Cultural%20Wedding%20BoardsForum:c9069c39-6e1f-4397-9e66-aeb7ed51fccbDiscussion:fd389482-2372-4c11-8348-9450b3f7c113Post:089acca6-67dd-4aa1-9e10-e2521a968610">Re: White Bride & Japanese Groom?</a>: