Wedding Cakes & Food Forum
Options

Advice from ladies who have baked their own cupcakes/cake

I'm an avid baker-- I absolutely love it, and people love what I make, enough so that I am considering it as a future profession. That being said, being that the FI and I are on a tight budget for our wedding, my immediate reaction was to handle the baking myself. We've already decided on cupcakes and will be having about 150 guests. We had our engagement party last weekend and I decided to use that as a trial run, baking about 80 mini cupcakes. It was a little stressful, but I already have some ideas on how to save myself time and energy for the wedding-- including making the frosting the day before and piping on the morning of. I have a year to prep and do a bunch more practice runs, but I was just wondering if any other brides have done this themselves and what advice you can offer me. I'm sure a majority of you are going to comment saying "don't do it"... I understand where you're coming from, but please save your breath. Thanks in advance!

I included a pic of the cupcakes and cookies I made for our engagement party, just to demonstrate that I sort of know what I'm doing. ;)

Re: Advice from ladies who have baked their own cupcakes/cake

• Options
    daria24daria24 member
    First Comment First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Answer
    My only caution is to check with your venue. Many places require all food to be prepared by a bonded & insured company, or you might have to purchase liability insurance. And some venues charge a cutting/playing fee for cakes and even cupcakes, so you might have to factor that into the price.
  • Options
    itzMSitzMS member
    First Answer First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Comment

Don't do it.

• Options
    The advice I'm looking for is from those who HAVE done it though-- not those who haven't and think it's crazy. I've made up my mind, I don't need people trying to sway me to change my mind if I feel comfortable doing it.