Military Brides

Need some ideas! Not wedding related!

I have a couple things.. I'm my FI's Troop FRG Treasurer. Basically I was just a name to fill the volunteer spot and never did anything in the past year. The new commander is super involved and really wanting to do a lot of fundraising. I'm trying to brainstorm and come up with some unique fundraising ideas. We're doing bake sales and carwashes, garage sales, etc. I was wondering if any of you have any ideas. I'm a photographer and thought of doing family pics for families on post as a fundraiser. Good idea?! Also, for the ball this year there's a centerpiece competition. Each troop has to come up witn 3 creative centerpiece ideas. So I'm trying to brainstorm for that. So yeah, throw out some suggestions. Lol . I'm so not creative.

Re: Need some ideas! Not wedding related!

• I think the family photos thing is a great idea. I'd be wary, but a lot of units here do stuff like that. One squadron did photos with the aircraft, and a lot of the wives got really into it, dressing up like pin-ups, etc. It worked well as a ball fundraiser. 

As far as the centerpieces, I really liked what we did at my wedding (duh). We made photo lanterns with pictures of Americans we admire, along with a patriotic quote or patriotic bio about each one. 

The head table was the Barack Obama table, and it had a black and white photo of POTUS on one side, "Table 1" on the second side, and an Obama quote on the third. "The men and women who serve in our battlefields may be Democrats and Republicans and Independents, but they have fought together and bled together and some died together under the same proud flag. They have not served a Red America or a Blue America - they have served the United States of America." We also had an Eisenhower table, a McGovern table, a Max Cleland table, and a whole bunch of others . 

You could do famous Army heroes, MOH recipients with their stories/shortened citations, etc.