Catholic Weddings

PRENUPTIAL WITNESS AFFIDAVIT

I'm new to the Catholic Church as my fiancé is catholic and I am not. We are having a wedding in the church and I was wondering about the prenuptial witness affidavit. Is this just used to prove we are feee and able to get married because our witnesses signed it?
Daisypath Anniversary tickers

Re: PRENUPTIAL WITNESS AFFIDAVIT

• itzMSitzMS member
    First Answer First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Comment
    I'm new to the Catholic Church as my fiancé is catholic and I am not. We are having a wedding in the church and I was wondering about the prenuptial witness affidavit. Is this just used to prove we are feee and able to get married because our witnesses signed it?

DH & I each had to have 3 witnesses come in to interview with our Priest in order verify what we had stated was true.

It's pretty common.

• We each had to have one signed by a parent of ours.  It literally just stated we were free to marry (no previous marriages, not related, etc).
  • wow, that's intense. We didnt have to to anything like that; we just signed it ourselves.
    Anniversary
  • We don't have to have anyone come in to sign it , they just have to have it signed and witnessed by a notary. I'm having my mom, and he is having one of his parents.
  • Yeah we didn't have to have any prenuptial witnesses either.  It's weird how much the process varies from parish to parish (or priest to priest)

SaveSave
  • MIL had to do one in the presence of a priest.  My mom isn't Catholic and the priest closest to her was insanely hard to get ahold of (like, we'd call and say we were 5 minutes away, be told he was there, show up and be told he was gone), so they let her just call the office of the parish where we were married and complete the interview by phone, "So she wouldn't have a bad taste for Catholics," which I thought was sweet.
    Anniversary