Students

Any girls in a man's field?

I am a Land Surveying major. I am the only girl in a group of about 17 guys. Just wanting to know if there are any of you out there in the same situation?

Re: Any girls in a man's field?

• I'm a diesel mechanic/technology major. I'm in a group with about 20 guys in my class and 30 in the freshmen class there is another girl now in the freshman class.
  • Not anymore but I worked in as an EMT for a year, I was frequently the only female on the job. I'd say out of a roster of 50 employees only 5 were female.  It really sucked at first. With the increasing rates of obesity we were mandated to take physical agility tests performed by the hospitals PT department; the requirements for females were less than that for males.  However, some of my male coworkers did not exactly decrease their expectations, and then there were some that were shocked at my abilities. 
  • I got my degree in Aviation Studies.  I'm a pilot and my goal is to work for the airlines.  Of all the pilots in the world, only about 1-3% are women!  So I feel your pain :-D  Most of the time the male pilots I come across treat me like one of the guys.  Occasionally I encounter the guy who thinks women shouldn't fly or that he's better than me, but then I remind myself that I'm good at what I do and he's probably just threatened by me.
    imageAnniversary