Second Weddings

Hello everyone!

I wanted to take a minute and introduce myself and my story.  My name is Erica, I am 28 and planning my second wedding.  I am lucky enough to have the second chance with the love of my live. I met my, now fiancé, JR in college.  We dated for almost two years and lived with each other.  I graduated and he was still in college.  We went our separate ways at graduation.  I ended up married to my, now ex-husband, shortly there after.  Looking back more of a rebound thing, ends up he was a drug addict.  After four years of fighting his addiction I had enough and left, taking my son with me.  Funny enough, JR saw on facebook I was single again and made contact with me.  This was over a year ago.  We have been dating for over a year now and in June got engaged.  I have had a hard time adjusting to the fact that he wants "the whole wedding experience".  So, here I am, planning my second wedding.  I have guilt that it should have always been him I was marrying but I am trying to move past that and just embrace the life we are creating now.

So, I think that is all about it for me.  Our wedding date is June 28, 2014.  I am having a great time sorting through details and we are writing our own vows so I think that will be extra special for us.

Re: Hello everyone!

• Congratulations!! Welcome to the board.  You may want to read the post "It's Normal" at the start of this board.  There is a lot of helpful advice. 

Sorry you had to deal with a drug addict, that is never fun.  

Plan the wedding you want and can afford, it's totally okay for a second time (or more) bride to have the wedding that she and her FI can afford. 
  • Congratulations Erica!  Isn't it great when things eventually work out the way they're supposed to...  :)

• Congrats Erica! That's a wonderful story and welcome to the board. The ladies here are wise, so when things feel a bit overwhelming or you are struggling, just post.

Happy planning!