African American Weddings

Question About Dress Fitting

Hi ladies,

I am new to the forum. Our wedding date is July 20, 2014...since I'm a teacher I am trying to utilize this summer to get some of the wedding planning out of the way.

I found my dream dress and I have already tried it on twice (first time with Mom, second time with bridesmaids). I'm in love, it's the Allure 8917 dress.

The place that I considered ordering from (until I found it for 100.00 less in Delaware (and no tax)...the owner informed me that I would need to pay the manufacturer 200.00 to alter the length of my dress. She said she would need to take a head-to-toe measurement while I am in my wedding shoes and she said she would send the info to them when I order the dress. She also said I would need to pay about 400 to the store for alterations. (Bustle, tightening etc.)

Is this normal? 600+ for alterations? Or is this highway robbery?

Re: Question About Dress Fitting

• marsm4marsm4 member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Comment Name Dropper
    edited July 2013
    Hi Elle, sorry I have no knowledge of how much this should cost, but I have to say that sound like it's WAY too much!  I could be wrong... GORGEOUS DRESS :-)
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • ellegantdani CONGRATS on your engagement and finding the dress... (IT IS BEAUTIFUL BTW) I have ordered my dress as well (WE ARE MONTH TWINS BTW...SO YAYYYY FOR US LOL) and the women on the board have all stated that alterations can be pricey... I dont think it is a way around it unfortunately and since you are ordering it now at least you can pay little by little to pay it off but i believe thats about right when it comes to the pricing...
    But tell us more about your wedding and colors and your wedding plans.... Welcome to the best board on TK

Lilypie - H1jI

Daisypath - MFL5