Wedding Cakes & Food Forum

Cupcakes!

I love baking! It is my stress reliever. And I am a damn good baker. Once I got engaged, the people that know me instantly warned me not to make my own cake. Well, we have decided to go with cupcakes. Would you tackle making cupcakes for your wedding by yourself (or with your ladies)? 
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Cupcakes!

• Nope.  I wanted the days leading up to my wedding as stress-free as possible.  We would much rather pay someone and have one less thing to worry about.
  • No.  I can bake too and so can a lot of my family members but that just isn't a good idea.
  • Hell no. I could make awesome cupcakes, but I'll have way more important things to do in the day or two before the wedding than spending it in my kitchen covered in flour.  Those things really need to be made no earlier than the day before to look and taste their best. You'll be too busy then, and you'll have friends and family around who you will want to spend time with. Let a good bakery handle them. Plus, most venues prohibit food being brought in that isn't made in a licensed professional kitchen.
  • Definitely not. 1) our venue only allowed food to be brought in from licensed caterers, bakeries, etc. and 2) though I make a mean cupcake, there is no way I wanted to spend the entire day before my wedding in the kitchen baking. I wanted to be at my rehearsal and RD, visiting with my OOT guests, etc.
  • Hell no.  I too bake, and I too am a damn good baker.  But there is not a force on the planet that could make me take on the stress and time-sink of baking for even a small crowd of people the day before my wedding.  No way.  
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • @scribe95 I am inviting 200 but I don't think that many will show.
    Baking is the way I relieve stress which is in part why it felt like a good idea. 
    Wedding Countdown Ticker