Wedding Etiquette Forum

Who makes the rules of "Etiquette"?

lynnz52lynnz52 member
First Anniversary First Comment 5 Love Its
edited September 2013 in Wedding Etiquette Forum
I have researched a lot about etiquette when planning my wedding. There are many different opinions, and some that believe their opinion is always right, and that etiquette should be followed without exception. Some people are even extremely rude to others about enforcing etiquette and rude when sharing their views of others who don't use etiquette. Doesn't that defeat the purpose?

What is the definition of etiquette? Is it cultural? According to wedding blogs? According to family tradition?

I hate the thought of someone thinking I'm rude, but I've had some personal experiences at weddings that break etiquette and I never thought it was rude. Is etiquette just making sure the guests are happy? Does it mean making sure no thinks you rude? Why do we follow etiquette if it will make your guests unhappy?

I have some specific examples:

You can't afford a cash bar.  -  Etiquette states you can have signature drinks or even a dry wedding. In my personal experience, I've been to dry weddings where no one danced and complained constantly about it being dry, and weddings with signature drinks that were not good. I would have paid anything to get a drink that I liked. I like to dance, and my family likes to dance, but only after they've had a couple. In my case, we made this a priority, but it was not cheap. What about those couples in my situation who cannot afford an open bar? Make your guests unhappy by going dry or having one type of drink? Or break etiquette?

Along the lines of not having guests pay for anything -  I imagine Dollar Dance is a no-no? My family loves that tradition. My Grandma loves to bring dollar bills to weddings and throw them in the air. Should I disappoint my Grandma?