Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

FMIL over-invited...now what?

Let me preface by saying I love my FMIL dearly. Let me also say that FI and I are paying for this wedding ourselves and completely out of pocket.

We booked a wedding reception venue with a max capacity of 100 because it's what we could afford. We took myself, FI, pastor, his wife, and FSIL's family (which both sides are close to) directly from the 100 (so we didn't have to figure out who's "side" they came from) and that left my side with 45 and his with 45. I've been asking FMIL for a guest list for about 2 months.

We were not going to do save-the-dates, but FMIL really pushed us to and we got an amazing deal, so we were more than happy to. I was still asking for a guest list to mail them to FI's "sides" invites, but she said that she would mail them out since I'm really busy between school and work, so I didn't forsee a problem.

Now there's a problem. I just got her guest list and it has 50 people. Not including herself, her husband, or FI's 3 brothers. It also does not include any of FI's friends/people he really wanted.

I know that etiquette dictates that anyone whom receives a save-the-date gets an invite. But we're over the max capacity and I'm not expecting a lot of "no"s....what do I do?

(FI wants to cut several people that she listed because he's only ever met them once, but she said absolutely not because they've been friends with his parents for a long time and his parents have been to the weddings of their kids. I've already cut everyone I possibly can - including some family and some really good friends. We can't cut anyone else from my side to make room for his).

Re: FMIL over-invited...now what?

• Options
    QueerFemmeQueerFemme member
    First Anniversary First Answer 5 Love Its First Comment
    edited September 2013