Just Engaged and Proposals

Growing impatient!

So my fiance and I just got engaged in July, we wanted to get married in 2016. But now I pushed back the wedding because he wants to move in together before we get married. I'm currently a college student so that's kinda our reason for having a long engagement. But the more I see things about weddings and ideas the more I just want to plan and we could figure out the living arrangements later on. Any suggestions?

Re: Growing impatient!

• P.S. we are getting married April of 2017.
  • My fiance and I have been together for 5 1/2 years and got engaged in September. We both still live with our parents (I'm 24, he's 26) because finances just haven't been right. I'm a teacher, he's a small business owner, so the timing hasn't hit yet. We always said we wouldn't get engaged until we were living together but that went out the window! We are getting married March 2015... we are lucky enough that my parents are paying for the wedding, so we are fortunate enough to be able to figure out our living arrangements AND plan a wedding at the same time. You just have to set some goals and discuss what you want - do you want to rent? buy? house? apartment? what can you afford monthly? ... and also figure out how wedding planning can work alongside that - deposits, purchases, etc.

There's no "right" or "wrong" for this - it's all up to how you and your fiance can manage it AND feel comfortable doing so.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • I'd wait til you are done with college.  whats the rush? if you two are going to be together and move in together.  The whole idea of planning and having a wedding sounds fun...but its a lot of work..and expensive.    You need to think beyond the actual wedding day, to a marriage.