Honeymoon Discussions
Options

Anyone else have to delay their honeymoon?

We are getting married on August 9th, 2014. I graduated from college this past April and finally got a full time job offer! I am beyond excited and definitely ready to leave my 2 part times for a full time (less hours, more money, weekends free, AND health insurance and PTO, which I have never had before!!) I start a week from Monday.

I am just finding out that vacation time is "accrued" for use in the next year. We get some personal days too but I expect to only have 4 or 5 PTO days that I can put toward things other than sick time.

So, we were hoping to take our honeymoon the same month of the wedding, but now we are thinking the earliest we could leave would be the Saturday after Christmas. I definitely want to make sure we have something at least booked before the wedding because I can name a few couples who intended to take a late honeymoon but just never took one. It's very important to us to have that last big hurrah before starting a family. Also, we both love to travel.

We are just getting to the point where the wedding feels closer, with less than 10 months to go, but our honeymoon is more than a year away! Lol so it feels like we can't get excited about it yet or really plan anything. On the plus side December/January opens up a lot more destinations in terms of ideal weather conditions! And we will be escaping cold and probably snowy weather in Michigan, whereas in August we would be leaving during a great weather time.

Anyone else in that boat?

Re: Anyone else have to delay their honeymoon?

• Options
    Yes, we're doing the same thing! I kind of don't want to plan international travel at the same time as planning a wedding, and I honestly think it would stress me out more. So we're going to wait until October (4 months after) and go somewhere. That way, we can balance our PTO better and relax a bit in between.
  • Options