Wedding Customs & Traditions Forum

Post-Conversion, Honoring Family in Ceremony

Hi Knotties, I'm a newbie and this is a religion issue so please be kind! I am struggling with some issues with customs in my ceremony and would love some input.
I grew up Protestant, but--with my family's full support--I chose to convert to Judaism. Next year I am marrying a Conservative Jewish man (who has some very Orthodox Jews in his family as well). Of course we plan on having many Jewish traditions in our ceremony, but I am struggling with the fact that our family's customs and traditions are very different and therefore this is still sort of an interfaith ceremony.
My family has begun expressing (albiet carefully and reluctantly and usually only after a drink) the desire to see something in the ceremony that represents our family. I don't resent this at all; I care deeply about embracing a Jewish ceremony, but also honoring the culture, customs and traditions that I grew up with and my friends and family embrace/identify with. My family and friends are already dealing with a great deal of Hebrew prayers, a glatt kosher reception, and a lot of other very foreign things, and I am still dealing with proving myself committed enough to Judaism for the more reluctant members of my fiance's family.
How can I incorporate some familiar Christian (or secular?) ceremony traditions without alienating my new family, my rabbi, and my fiance?
Thanks gals!

Re: Post-Conversion, Honoring Family in Ceremony

• You'll have to ask your FI, FILs, and rabbi what they would be okay with before you incorporate any non-Jewish religious elements into your wedding.