Pennsylvania-Pittsburgh

Budget (aka CHEAP) nontraditional venue

Hi guys,<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />   I’m new at this and just in the beginning stages of planning for a wedding in 2015. Not having a traditional wedding, basically just want to throw more of a party than reception (no flowers, bridal party, wedding gown, or first dances) Anyways, we want the majority of the budget to go towards food, booze, and shuttling guests from the venue to a hotel TBD. I’m thinking of renting a hall of some sort (under $1000) to be the venue. Since it’s more of a party, I’d like a place that lets you bring your own food and booze. Any ideas? I’m leaning away from the fire hall route, as all the ones I’ve seen online are outdated and dingy. Although I want it cheap, I do want it to look nice on its own since we probably won’t be spending money on tons of décor. So far I’ve come across the Hampton Community Center & the Union Project.  Guest list will be around 175-200, doesn’t really matter what part of town.  Any suggestions, ideas, or feedback would be greatly appreciated!

Re: Budget (aka CHEAP) nontraditional venue

• Check the Pittsburgh Opera House as well. I will also caution you to not get hung up on the idea of excluding venues that have preferred caterers. That's initally what I was looking for, but it ended up about the same, cost-wise, for us to use a venue with a preferred caterer versus one without.
  • Blueberry Hill looks like a good place. That was our 2nd option. They are in Wexford/Warrendale area.  Also, check out the lodge at North Park.  
  • I highly recommend the Lodge at North Park! You WILL have to do DIY and rent tables and chairs but it was worth it to us.  We only had around 70 guests - but I could easily see 150 fitting... You could talk to them about 175-200 but there are several large rooms, so it may work fine.