Military Brides

Care Packages

My FI is deployed overseas and this is the first deployment we have been through as an engaged couple. I would really like to send him a Care Package, but I do not know the Do's and Don't's of what to send. He's requested a few things I know are safe to send, but I was wondering what the protocol was on sending T-shirts or things like that. Is there enough room for them to pack them and bring them home? Are they even allowed to wear clothing that isn't military issued? I am fairly new to all of this so any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Re: Care Packages

• A lot of that depends on where he is. A combat zone? Civilian attire would be a waste. Korea? Qatar? He probably gets a chance to wear civvies. In that case, I'd just make sure they weren't offensive or accidentally inappropriate for local culture. The USPS has a list of prohibited items on their website for Afghanistan and probably other countries. You can google it.
  • Thanks! I did look online on the USPS Website for restrictions for Afghanistan, but it did not include clothing so I was not sure. It would not be offensive or inappropriate in anyway. I guess I was just looking for some ideas as well! Thanks for your help!
  • lmac0529 said:
    Thanks! I did look online on the USPS Website for restrictions for Afghanistan, but it did not include clothing so I was not sure. It would not be offensive or inappropriate in anyway. I guess I was just looking for some ideas as well! Thanks for your help!
    Keep in mind that things that we don't consider at all offensive might be there. Someone on another of my boards posted the same question earlier, and that board gets a lot more traffic. 

I hate Dave Ramsey