Wedding Reception Forum

Help! Groom wants NO alcohol

2»

Re: Help! Groom wants NO alcohol

• tortoisebridetortoisebride member
    5 Love Its First Comment Name Dropper
    edited April 2014
    Gina0887 said:
    What about a beer and wine bar served by an actual bartender who knows not to over serve (and reiterate this point to them at the reception)? 
    This is a good compromise if you're really not willing to go dry. 

Seriously though, if this is the only thing your FI has strong feelings about, I really think it's only fair that you and your parents be willing to take his opinion into account. If it were flower colors, I'd say the same thing, but given the circumstances please do listen to him. I have a relative who gets embarrassing when she drinks, although she's not to the bar fights level, and I'm having a dry wedding because I know that even if we only had champagne, I'd be worrying about her getting loud and obnoxious. (Also my FI and I don't really drink, so...) You want your groom to be happy and relaxed on your wedding day, right? Remove this huge source of stress for him.

Your guests will cope without booze, or with just a champagne toast. Or, you could have an after party where you and your younger friends go hang out at a bar or something, either the same night or another night later on.
    This is me reading threads on TK
    Wedding Countdown Ticker