May 2014 Weddings
Options

DJ Worries

So our wedding is 2 weeks from today. Our DJ has basically not contacted us at all since I called and booked him. Now, I should clarify he is our friend. He was a co-worker/supervisor of mine for 4.5 years while I was in college. We were super close then, but since I graduated and got a new job... it's rare we talk. But when we do it's like no time has passed. I mean he does have a respectable and lucrative business. Runs it very well. And I don't know... is he maybe just being more chillax about it since we know him? It's been like pulling teeth to contact him. I've done facebook messages, text messages, and emailing him (yes, calling is next... he just always says emails and texts are easier to get a hold of him. HA). Hes gotten back to me ONCE with the sheet to fill out specific songs. I don't want to start being bitchy about things... but he's gotta understand we are planning a wedding, and need to make sure things are set, friends or not. He does weddings all the time! He seriously books up a year in advance. Which means he's gotta be good at this stuff! 

Did I just make a big mistake booking a friend to DJ our wedding? Do I need to be looking into a backup (somehow)? Or am I just overreacting? How often have you had contact with your DJ's?
We've paid a deposit. Signed a contract. But I am FREAKING OUT!

Re: DJ Worries

• Options
    That is the main reason they reccomend you really hire someone, not a friend. Hopefully hes just being a little more casual because you are firiends, but will still pull through for you. If you have a contract and all, im sure he will. Really i talked to ours when we hired him and he gave me the sheet to fill out, and i just heard from him asking me to send it in asap, and then he said he will call to do a fianl review.
  • Options