Registry and Gift Forum

Kind of odd gift giving questions

I am in a friend's wedding this weekend. I am a professional photographer myself, but am not her photographer. I found her wedding photographer for her and made sure her package came with digitals with the intent to make a wedding album for her from the images. It would be about $1k+ if she added it onto her package from her photographer, so it's a cost savings to her, but also just something I really want her to have as a friend and not something she could buy on her own.

I've told her, informally, that this will be her gift and she seems super happy about it, but I'm not sure how to word it in the actual card I give her. And, do I put adollar "limit" on it... I mean, a 10x10 leather bound album with extra spreads could easily run me $500, which is out of my budget. But it seems weird to say, "So happy for you and X- to celebrate your wedding I would love to design and gift you a wedding album costing up to but no more than $X!" kwim? -_-

Lastly, my mom is coming with me to the wedding (out of state wedding with my young daughter as the flower girl, but my DH works so I didn't want to travel alone) and my mom wanted until the last minute and now the only items left on her registry are all really pricey.  Is it weird to have my gift of the album (plus maybe some more prints) be from both myself and my mom? 

My mom won't do a cash gift, she's just old school I guess.

Thoughts?

Re: Kind of odd gift giving questions

• If your mom is attending, I think she should bring a gift. Personally, I would never show up to a wedding giftless - and the photo album is pretty obviously YOUR gift to the bride.

As far as the type of photo album, I think you could make up a "coupon" for the album. You could say "$100 toward a wedding album" or something similar. 
    *********************************************************************************