Destination Weddings Discussions

Buyer Beware- Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel in Playa Del Secreto, MEXICO

I am disturbed how greedy a hotel can be and I work in the hospitality industry! 
We brought 43 guests to the hotel for my wedding, spent over $27,000 USD. 10 of our guests were on a flight from Dallas, TX which was cancelled attributed to weather. It was the most dissapointing news to get the night before my wedding, to know my mother in law, father in-law, sister in-law and best friend would not be attending my wedding. 
I spoke to the wedding coordinator asked her if my guests would get their money back and she insisted "yes they will, don't worry about it". Guess what? That was not the truth. 2 guests got their money back because they booked outside our wedding block and paid through the airline website. But our other 8 guests? They are being penalized with a No-show fee equivilant to one room night per guest. 
We spent $27k USD in this hotel and they are going to charge my guests 8 no show fees? The hotel's response was "travel insurance was an option they should have taken". Unbelievable how unhospitable! 
I work as a Director of Revenue for Hilton Worldwide Corporate Office in Dallas, TX and none of the hotels I manage would ever penalize guests for weather, expecially after a group spent $27k in room and F &B revenue! This is concerning that a hotel would be so greedy and unhospitable. This is a sure fire way to turn away repeat business from 43 guests. And several of them work for Hilton Worldwide and were appalled by the hotels stance. 
I even went so far as to email the General Manager to plea as a fellow hotelier to not penalize our guests for conditions that were out of their control and received no response. I am disgusted by this hotel's behavior.