Wedding Woes
Options

I will never live up to my theater dreams

Dear Prudence,
I am 28 years old, and I’ve had a passion for theater since before I can remember. My mother tells me that the only thing that would settle me down at the age of 2 was putting on a recording of The Mikado. I majored in theater in college and I now am out in the real world. My husband is endlessly supportive of my theatrical ambitions, but I’m a disappointment in my field. My heart is breaking, because I have the passion and the drive, but not the talent. Where do I go from here? Do I give up and go into real estate, where my likability and a gift for convincing will get me paid, but not fulfilled?

—Always Good, Never Great

Re: I will never live up to my theater dreams

• Options
    Seems like the writer could sell real estate and do community theater.  It doesn't have to be all or nothing.
  • Options
    It depends on the community re: community theatre.  

She can find other aspects of the theatre world to satisfy herself.  There are plenty of aspects other than performance for a career.  But if she refuses to acknowledge that, then yeah, she should just give it up.  

I do wonder how you have passion and drive, but not talent though.  Very few of the most brilliant actors of today made it on talent alone.  Maybe checking out other avenues of networking or theaterical venues is necessary.  This really sounds like, "If I can't be on Broadway and be Bernadette Peters, I'm a failure" trip.
  • Options
    I agree V.
  • Options
    I knew I couldn't make it professionally doing theater I got my undergrad degree in acting, I moved on got my MBA I work in finance and do community theater as a hobby best of both worlds.  It's very feasable.  I do wonder what her level of talent is versus where she wants to be....

Anniversary

• Options
    Pease, I'm a double major of theatre and political science here.  :)
  • Options