Illinois-Chicago

Strolling Reception

HELLO EVERYONE!!
  I am new to the knot and just wanted to get some advice about my wedding.  I am having a very small wedding with probably only 30 guests.  For that reason we are having our reception at a beautiful boutique hotel in a intimate room.  I am having trouble with the strolling reception idea.  Is anyone doing this?  I like the lounge and the feel of it being casual but I don't know how well it would actually go the day of.  Any advice is greatly appreciated, and if you have any ideas of how the layout for strolling reception looks let me know.
Thanks,
J

Re: Strolling Reception

• Sparkette19Sparkette19 member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Ok, I'll bite...what's a strolling reception? I've never heard of the term before.
    When you're born in Chicago you're blessed and you're healed the first time you walk into Wrigley Field. My Bio
  • edited December 2011
    I believe its like an appetizer/cocktail reception. One person who did this was Cruella. You might want to try paging her, but I dont think she really gets on here any more. Her caterer was Food For Thought and she was really happy with them.
  • chosen175chosen175 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    If you're doing a cocktail reception, it would be fine.  If you're serving a meal, I would go with a more traditional type of seating.  Also, even though you'd expect people to walk around, you still need to have a seat for every rear end, and harder chairs with backs & arms for the elderly relatives who might be in attendance.
  • Sparkette19Sparkette19 member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Oh! I've never heard of of a cocktail reception as a strolling reception before...but it makes sense.

I agree with PP about having a place to sit for every guest.
    When you're born in Chicago you're blessed and you're healed the first time you walk into Wrigley Field. My Bio