Chit Chat

parent resentment/vent

Jstump2Jstump2 member
First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Comment Name Dropper
edited December 2014 in Chit Chat

To give some background:

Me and my H met when I was going to school near my hometown and he lived 45 minutes away near his full-time job. We mainly took turns driving back and forth, one weekend I would drive up to him the next he would drive down to me. Sometimes one of us would drive more depending on schedules. About a year into dating my H decided to look for a house. At this point we were talking about marriage/our future. We decided to look for a house up by his work because he is locked into a career there and I would look for a job near that area (which is close to a major city) upon graduation. 

Fast forward a couple years, I graduated, moved in with him and we got engaged. I know have a job in a suburb (about 30 minutes from our house and 30 minutes from my parents/hometown). When we started planning the wedding I looked in our general area and wound up loving a venue about 15 minutes from our house and 30 minutes from my hometown. We got married and are now thinking about TTC in the not too distant future.

That brings me to my parents. They recently started commenting/little digs about the fact that I moved away. They think that the wedding should have taken place in my hometown, as I was the bride and “traditionally the wedding takes place in the brides hometown” They also expressed that they never understood why I was “constantly driving up there” when we were dating. As he was the guy he should have been driving down to me to “pick me up for dates”.

Lastly, since I have moved 45 minutes away they have only come up to visit a handful of times. Maybe once to my 4 or 5 times.