South Carolina-Charleston
Options

Introduction...and any ideas for ceremony location? (kinda long, sorry)

Hello everyone! I've been lurking on here for a while and thought it was time to introduce myself. I live in Charlotte, NC and am planning a May 26, 2012 wedding in Charleston. I've been engaged since this past Christmas Eve, but am just now starting to really plan. My fiance is 31 and I am 25; he does data entry and I am a full-time student/CNA.

I am on a somewhat tight budget, and want a more casual/laid back wedding for about 50 guests.

My fiance and I are really leaning towards having our reception at a restaurant. I want to rent out the 2nd floor at Southend Brewery...waiting for a reply from them to see if my date is available.

What I need some ideas on/help with is where to hold my ceremony. I'm having a hard time with that. I don't want to pay a ton of money for something that will last 15 minutes or so (we are having a non-religious ceremony).

I would love any advice from the Charleston ladies. It's hard trying to find stuff when you live almost 4 hours away! Thanks ladies!

Re: Introduction...and any ideas for ceremony location? (kinda long, sorry)

• Options
    edited December 2011
    We got married at Middleton Plantation and they were wonderful. Even though we only had our ceremony there and had our reception at Tristan, they do have the ability to do both the ceremony and reception at the location.

Good Luck!
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • Options
    edited December 2011

We looked long and hard for a ceremony location for my daughter's wedding in June.  I think your best choice might be the Confederate Home and another place to look would be the Palmer Home.  Both would offer an outdoor ceremony location with an inside room in case of rain  We ended up using the courtyard of the Dock Street Theatre, but that will not be an option because your date is during the Spoleto Festival.   

• Options
    newmamaronewmamaro member