Wedding Woes

I want to be a SAHGF

Dear Prudence,
I am a 26-year-old woman living in a quaint tech town. I have been a social worker since graduation, most recently with hospice patients, and the experience made me feel I was headed for a nervous breakdown. I saw terrible things with the families and the job filled me with deep sadness. I’m working on changing careers but struggling to find a field that interests me. I’m happiest in my quiet home, cleaning and making beautiful meals for my partner. I walk my dog, go to the gym, volunteer cleaning up a local forest and do things that promote tranquility. He makes enough at a tech firm to support the both of us, but I am paying my share of bills with my meager savings. We have no children and don’t see any on the horizon. He was supportive of my quitting, assuming I would quickly find another job. But social work now terrifies me, and I don’t know want to do for a career, if anything. Is it wrong to ask my partner to support my quiet at-home life for the sake of my mental health? Am I crazy to drop out of the workforce so early? What do I say to my worried family members when they grill me about my plans for the future?

—Modest Ambitions

Re: I want to be a SAHGF

• A quaint tech town?  How does that work?

I can see how hospice work would lead to burn out, for sure.  I don't think dropping out of the workforce altogether is a good solution.  Surely there are things she could do in social work that aren't as hard as hospice work, and if she decides the entire field isn't for her, then mid-20's is an ideal time to change tracks.  But I think she needs a better plan than not working.  If she is ever in a position where she does need to work, explaining a multi-year hole in her resume as "promoting tranquility" won't get her very far.
  • She needs to see a therapist.

SAHW and SAHGF just boggles my mind.