Wedding Woes

My friends think I'm an a-hole because I can't remember stuff.

Dear Prudence,
I have a neurological condition that affects my memory. In most ways, this doesn’t hinder my life too much. I graduated from an Ivy League university, got a master’s degree, and have a career I love. At the same time, the things I forget sometimes terrify me. I worry that friends think I’m uncaring because I never remember what they’re up to from one conversation to the next. I often ask questions which reveal I’ve forgotten some important thing they shared with me the last time we talked. (For example, I might forget that their wife is pregnant or their father is sick.) Often in conversation, a friend will say something like, “Remember when we did X together?” The answer is almost always no. I feel weird and dishonest saying, “Yes, I loved that night!” but I also don’t want to get into a whole medical explanation for why I’ve forgotten a memory they clearly value. Any advice for how to handle these situations? 

—Forgetful

Re: My friends think I'm an a-hole because I can't remember stuff.

• This obviously isn't something new so why wouldn't you just be honest about it? There is no shame in having a problem MrsConn and your friends would probably be very sympathetic. Also, why don't you try keeping a notebook to write down memories from what you do so you can have some recall?