Flowers

Winter Wedding Bouquet Dilemma

My wedding is January 2016 and I'm trying to figure out what I am going to do for flowers. I decided to limit the flower arrangements to the bouquets and boutonnieres and just focusing on one type of flower so that it's really simple because we have a small budget. I liked the idea of making the bouquets myself. Since it's one flower it should be simple enough to make the bouquets. I even found FiftyFlowers.com, an online, wholesale flower company and they have good reviews. Here's the problem: I live in Chicago. Winter here is the real deal and none of the reviews I saw were from a winter wedding in Chicago. I have two questions:

1) Have you ordered from Fifty Flowers in the winter from the Midwest with success?
2) Are you from Chicago and have an idea of where I can get wholesale garden roses in January?

P.S. Sorry for the long post! This is my first time posting to the wedding boards.

Re: Winter Wedding Bouquet Dilemma

• I grew up in Peoria, so I'm familiar with your winter problem. I'm no help as far as your actual questions; I just wanted to suggest you also post this on the local Chicago board (links to the right), where you might get more responses. This board is usually pretty low-traffic. 
    What did you think would happen if you walked up to a group of internet strangers and told them to get shoehorned by their lady doc?~StageManager14
  • Thank you for the heads up! Since I posted this I have found another florist in my area that is willing to work with my budget. I still have to sit down with her and discuss the details. But thank you!