Chit Chat

Poll: How much did your marriage license cost?

124»

Re: Poll: How much did your marriage license cost?

• @knightsnurse I just noticed your username; I love it!

imageimage

• Ours will be $110 in a county of WI.

I just looked, and it's $115 in the county I'm in in Wisconsin. I hadn't gotten as far as looking at that yet-- talk about sticker shock!

Yeah, I wonder what tax was "cut" that resulted in hiking up these kinds of fees...

Weirdly, I don't recall other "official business" in WI being that expensive. Getting a driver's license was never a big fee from what I remember, but it's been a while since I was a resident there.
    This baby knows exactly how I feel
  • @knightsnurse I just noticed your username; I love it!

Thanks!! :) I am mostly a lurker so it is easy to go unnoticed lol
    Wedding Countdown Ticker

• edited April 2015

Ours will be $110 in a county of WI.
    I just looked, and it's $115 in the county I'm in in Wisconsin. I hadn't gotten as far as looking at that yet-- talk about sticker shock!

Yeah, I wonder what tax was "cut" that resulted in hiking up these kinds of fees...

Weirdly, I don't recall other "official business" in WI being that expensive. Getting a driver's license was never a big fee from what I remember, but it's been a while since I was a resident there.

I was thinking the same thing. Nickle-and-diming taxes and fees tend to target vices or things where people are perceived to be able to afford the tax. When we were in the LONG line in Cook County to get our license (and later my certificate), I was looking at all these couples and mentally calculating how much the county was raking in just in that hour alone. It takes all of 5 minutes of the employee's time to enter your info into a computer and collect your cash. So besides overhead, I really wonder what our fees are going toward. Edit: words are hard.

• MadHops21 said: