Catholic Weddings

Reflections on our readings

primafaba15primafaba15 member
5 Love Its First Comment Name Dropper First Anniversary
edited June 2015 in Catholic Weddings
Not sure if this is something particular to our priest, but I thought I would ask!

Our priest has asked that we each write a reflection for him on our chosen readings, to help him in composing the homily. I have never done anything like this before and I'm not sure through what lens I should be reflecting. Am I reflecting on the application of the readings to our relationship? Am I reflecting on the broader theological / marital implications of the readings? I probably should have asked for further clarification, but I was embarrassed to ask since FI seemed to think it was pretty straightforward (although he can't figure out how to explain it to me). He was raised Catholic and attended Catholic school his entire life and has apparently done this sort of thing many times before; I am relatively new to the church and definitely have not!  We are already far behind schedule on getting those reflections in, so I don't feel like I can go back to the priest at this point. 

I'm trying to muddle through, but I'd appreciate clarification from anyone who has experience with this sort of thing.... 

Re: Reflections on our readings

• In my experience, priests do so many weddings, a lot of them have a template, if not even a standard homily they give, and they don't always have something to do with the particular readings read at mass.

This priest might be trying to find out exactly why you chose those readings, and connect it to you so that its not generic.  Also,its always helpful to read the Sunday readings and reflect on them prior to mass, so I think its a neat exercise. 

I'm sure he's aware of the theological stuff, so I'm betting he's wanting more of a personal take.