Pennsylvania-Pittsburgh

I want to change my full name. Where to start?

Hey guys!

I'm kind of at a loss as to what to look up and where to start. I want to change my full name when I get married, but I don't know how to start the process. Do I start when I fill in my new name on the marriage license certificate or is there something else I need to do first?

If the latter, can you point me to a URL where I can get more info, please? I think my google searches are lacking because I just don't know what to look up. Please and thank you!!

Tessa, Bride-To-Be
December 19th, 2015

Re: I want to change my full name. Where to start?

• If you want to change your full name you will need to do a name change. You really should use an attorney for this as it is much more complicated than changing your last name when you get married. It can also be kind of expensive. (I am an attorney who does these all the time) You should wait until after you are married though.
  • MissTessaMissTessa member
    First Comment
    edited July 2015
    Thanks. So a follow-up question then,

I'm seeing that it's quite common for people to change their middle name to their maiden name and then take on their spouse's last name as their own last name.

Since they're changing just the middle and last names, can I change my middle name to anything other than my maiden name?

And secondly, why should I wait until after I am married to do the name change? If I can change my middle and last on the marriage certificate, shouldn't I get only my first name changed legally prior to getting married so that my new full name is on the certificate, and then I can use my new first name on all of my document changes? Basically, I'm asking what the pros and cons are for waiting until after I'm married to do the first/middle name change.

Thank you for your help!

Tessa, Bride-To-Be
    December 19th, 2015