Destination Weddings Discussions

Bahamas Wedding 2016 Advice Needed

Hi! Any and all advice on planning a wedding in the Bahamas is much appreciated! We are thinking April 2016. I would like an family friendly place since my nephew who will be 1.5 years old by then will be coming. However I don't want it to be over run by kids either. Would love an all inclusive and on the island of Nassau. Guests about 10-15 people and for sure want ceremony on the beach. I have looked into Melia on the website but waiting to hear more info back from them. I am a wedding photographer so photography is of upmost importance to me so suggestions on that as well please!!

Re: Bahamas Wedding 2016 Advice Needed

• Nassau (or the Bahamas) is not the best place for all inclusives. Your only other choices are Breezes or Riu Palace. Depending on when in April (not sure of the timing of Easter) the resorts won't be too busy with kids, assuming Spring Breaks are over with. However, that is something you really cannot control because the pickings are slim and you want something family friendly.

If you want all inclusive, your best bets are the Dominican Republic, Jamaica, or Mexico.

• If you are open to other locations, I would suggest the Secrets in Cozumel, Mexico or the Secrets in Punta Cana.  Both, I think, share the property with a family friendly resort. So you could stay on the adults-only side, while your nephew and his family stays on the family friendly side. If you stay on the adults only side, you have access to the entire property, kids just can't go to the adults side. From what I've seen, the weddings can be held on either side of the beach. There are AIs littered around the Carribean with simlar setups.
    "There is always some madness in love. But there is also always some reason in madness." -Friedrich Nietzsche, "On Reading and Writing"