40-Plus Brides

How do I delay my period?

Hello ladies! I was wondering if anyone had any natural remedies to help delay a period? I am scheduled to start the day of my wedding. It wouldn't be so bad if it wasn't the first day, but I am always in SO much pain and look awful on the first day of my menstrual cycle. I am dreading to feel that way on the day of my wedding and really want to delay it. Does anyone have any methods to do this without the use of birth control? Thank you!!

Re: How do I delay my period?

• Birth control is the only way I know to fool your body and change up your cycle.
  • you could outright starve yourself. if you lose a bunch of weight, your body usually starts shutting down and you stop menstruating.

you could also start ingesting bromide, which the Nazis used to help stop women from menstruating in concentration camps. bromide can also be toxic in higher doses, so this might not be the best idea. 

please keep in mind that i'm not a doctor, and neither of these ^^^ suggestions is safe, despite being all natural. 

you could also get pregnant, which can come with it's own host of issues - but it should stop you from bleeding (unless you spot - some women do.)
  • Talk to your doctor. There are was to postpone it for long periods of time. Austronauts use this for their spaceflights.