Getting in Shape

Muscle or Cardio....

My wedding dress came in a couple weeks ago and I had my initial fitting for the dress on Friday. It fit well and I am genuinely happy with everything, except it was a little snug around my chest area. The owner of the bridal salon came up to me to see how everything fit, and told me to stop doing cardio. If I want to work out, I need to do situps. She said Cardio will make my chest get too big to fit into the dress...

....is her statement accurate? Should I stop doing cardio and stick with only muscle building? My cardio is usually just walking, but I will toss in some running from time to time. 

If her statement is true, what am I supposed to do to burn upper body fat? (chest and tummy specifically)

Re: Muscle or Cardio....

• Im not an expert. and I'm still a work in progress myself...

There is no such thing as targeting an area for fat loss. Cardio burns calories, and if you burn more than you intake, = weight loss. Strength training tones, and also burns calories. Keep working hard at the gym, and watch what you eat and you'll start to drop lbs. 

SO much easier said than done, though. best of luck!! xx
  • How in the world would cardio make your chest bigger?  Sorry but the owner sounds crazy.  I would ignore her.

Generally cardio and weight lifting will burn calories and if you burn more then you ingest then you will lose weight, thus causing you to lose inches, thus reducing your chest/back size.  But you also have to remember that you are shaped a certain way and no amount of losing weight will decrease your overall skeletal frame.

Just keep doing what you are doing to stay fit and healthy.  If the dress is still slightly snug in the chest area then your seamstress will just have to let it out a little in that area.  No biggie.

• alhaley88alhaley88 member
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Love Its Name Dropper
    edited October 2015