Getting in Shape

Wedding Workouts

Hey all! My big day is a little over 7 months away. I'm also a teacher, so in a few weeks, fitting in a workout will be a little more difficult. What kind of workouts do you all do to get fit for your wedding and how do you fit them into your daily schedule with work and life?

Re: Wedding Workouts

• SP29SP29 member
    First Anniversary First Comment First Answer 5 Love Its
    The biggest thing for me with working out (in general) is to either sign up for some sort of class or make a schedule with someone else (friend, your FI) to work out. If left to my own devices I will find reasons why I can't exercise (I just ate, it's too hot, it's too late, I'd be out running alone...etc, etc) and have trouble prioritizing fitness over other things I think I *should* be doing (i.e. laundry, cleaning).

I've joined a Run Club two days per week. So I know every Wed at 6:30pm and Sunday at 8:30am I am going running; it also helps I've made a couple friends there, so when they ask if I'm coming Sunday and I tell them yes, I would feel bad if I didn't show up. I do run another day per week on my own, and I have it scheduled in my head for Friday after work, but there are definitely days where I have missed my run.

Another thing I really like are home workouts. It does take some internal motivation to make yourself do it (particularly if you do it alone), but there are a lot of great body weight exercises or exercises you can do with bands or light dumbbells at home. If you know you like to settle down at watch a TV show a few nights per week, try doing a workout while you're watching your show.