Wedding Customs & Traditions Forum

Toastmaster/ Other "Special" Roles

Hey all,

Not sure if this belongs here or in Reception, so correct me if I'm wrong by posting here!

I was talking about the order of speeches with my mom and she asked if I have a toastmaster.  She said essentially the toastmaster is just someone close to the bride (i.e. aunt) who gives a speech at the wedding about the bride when she was younger and stuff...

Adding a speech from a toastmaster would only be a few minutes so it wouldn't be the end of the world, however I'm just curious if anyone here has heard of a toastmaster and if so what their role is?

Edit: I decided to remove some extra info that I included in my original post and rephrase some of it as people were mostly focusing on that instead of my actual question... I appreciate the insight but I'm just curious about the above questions, not about what you think about my wedding plans. Thanks!
Daisypath Wedding tickers

Re: Toastmaster/ Other "Special" Roles

• Okay this is what I was thinking! Like sure I would love them and the person giving them would love to give them, but no one else there wants to sit through all that!
    Plus 5 mins is a looong time when you really think about it...
    Daisypath Wedding tickers
  • 30-40 minutes of speeches?!
    What did you think would happen if you walked up to a group of internet strangers and told them to get shoehorned by their lady doc?~StageManager14
  • A toast is like a minute, tops.  "Here's to OP and her groom, may you always be this happy and in love ...maybe one more line ... please join me in raising a glass.  Cheers!"  If you have that many people speaking, I'd def go with a toast and not speeches.  Although I've never been to a wedding with parents of the B or G speaking at all...I've only seen the MOH and BM (or a BM/GM).