Wedding Photography and Videography Forum

photo book vs photo album?

I've never done a photo book or album before, so I need some recommendations.  first of all, is paying for the higher cost of a photo album worth it? Or will I be just as happy with a photo book?

I think I'm leaning towards mypublisher because of the reviews I've read.  April 5th is the last date to get your project in because they shut down May 8th!  I emailed them this question, but maybe someone here has used them and knows this too.  It says 20 pages plus an option to add another 20.  Are those 40 pages (80 sides?) or 20 pages (40 sides)?

I';m also, taking other recommendations if you've used another company you were thrilled with.  I want to include engagement session, photo booth pics AND a lot of wedding photos and I may even need more than 80 sides.

Re: photo book vs photo album?

• bleve0821bleve0821 member
    First Anniversary First Comment First Answer 5 Love Its
    edited March 2017
    I had a Groupon earlier this year for a MyPublisher photo book with 30 pages (front and back, for a total of 60).  I was blown completely away with the final product, and had planned somewhere down the line to purchase a premium album from them, just based on the quality of the photo book.  Alas.

My only complaint with MyPublisher was that you had to download a program to make your actual photo album, it's not like Shutterfly where you just upload the photos and make it on their website. The program was a pain in the ass to use, but it was absolutely worth it based on the final product. If you go with MyPublisher and get a photo book, stay away from the linen cover with the photo insert. I made a several albums with those covers, and the photos had a tendency to look kind of rumpled. 

I can't recommend MyPublisher enough, though.

"And when they use our atoms to make new lives, they won’t just be able to take one, they’ll have to take two, one of you and one of me..."
    --Philip Pullman