Wedding Vows & Ceremony Discussions

Can a Catholic deacon (specifically my father) marry me outside of the church?

Hi all,

My dad is currently in the process of becoming a Catholic deacon and has the ability to officiate weddings. I would LOVE to ask him to officiate my wedding, but we are planning on having the ceremony where we are having our reception - outside of the church at a restaurant/event center. (My fiancé is Greek Orthodox and after receiving a significant amount of pressure from his family, we've decided to not make the wedding focused on either religion.)

I'm curious if anyone has had similar issues/knows if this is possible.

Thanks!
Mari

Re: Can a Catholic deacon (specifically my father) marry me outside of the church?

• I'm not an expert, but I would think if he has the ability to officiate weddings he would be able to legally do it outside the church. Of course, it wouldn't be recognized by the Catholic church and he could get in to trouble with the church for doing so. He might be able to check with the archdiocese about it.

• I assume that you are aware that if you are not married in either the Catholic or the Greek Orthodox church, you will no longer be able to practice your Catholic faith?  You will no longer be able to receive the host at mass.  Just be certain that you are prepared for this.  I do not know what the rules for the Greek Orthodox faith are, but the two churches do recognize each other's marriage ceremonies as sacraments.
    httpiimgurcomTCCjW0wjpg
  • He wouldn't be able to do so without dispensation and that's unlikely to be given.   
  • MobKazMobKaz member
    First Anniversary First Comment First Answer 5 Love Its

Hi all,