Wedding Woes

Gratitude Discomfort (Title stolen from MrsConn)

Dear Prudence,

I’m a relatively high-level manager at work and I’ve started to become friends with the woman who does payroll. We text, have lunch together, and generally spend a few minutes chatting every day. I’d like to become “real” friends outside of work, but I’m nervous because she knows I make about $100K a year more than she does. We’re both single moms with kids around the same age and have a lot in common, but I worry that she’ll judge me for making more money than she does.

Last month she helped me out on a huge project. I’m not in a position to secure a raise for her, so I bought her child a new summer wardrobe. I didn’t tell anyone at work, as I didn’t want to embarrass her, but she helped me so much I wanted to return the favor. If I ask her and her child to accompany me to the zoo or to a movie, is it OK to offer to pick up the tab for all of us? Is that being insulting?

—Unequal Reimbursement

Re: Gratitude Discomfort (Title stolen from MrsConn)

• agreed with @DrillSergeantCat.... was helping her out with a project her job?  If it was outside of her job description a company paid lunch would have been nice, if allowed per the company? 

• Exactly @CharmedPam! Or you also go to her boss and say, "I want you to put it in her record that she went above and beyond to help me with this project and I would like that reflected when it comes time for her annual review."
  • I would find it extremely insulting if somebody who knew how much I made tried to give me charity. Just because I don't make as much as you does not make me any less capable of caring for my child. I think it's kind of rude that the poster would assume I need help. Money has no place in friendship, unless she's specifically asking you for help - focus on the friendship and leave money out of it.