Wedding Woes

Smiling my way to partnership.

Dear Prudence,

I’m a female lawyer on the brink of making partner at a mid-size firm. I’ve been passed up several times in favor of male colleagues who bill fewer hours and generate significantly less business. When I asked what I needed to do to get there I was told I needed to smile more, come out of my office and attend more company events and happy hours. I attend all holiday parties and major firm events but I am already working 70-plus hours a week, which leaves me little time for my family. The happy hours are every week and last for hours, and I don’t drink! I am friendly and make conversation with the partners and get lots of praise from clients. I am already burned out and it is affecting my family life and health. I’m just not sure I can give any more and the men that were promoted above me rarely attend any of these events, leave the office at 4:00, and I’m willing to bet were never told to smile more! I feel like this is a subtle form of discrimination. There is only one female partner out of 20 and these are the people voting. I’ve invested a lot in the company so it’s not that simple to just leave.

—70-Hour Work Week

Re: Smiling my way to partnership.

• I agree @banana468.  

This more screams that they don't think she'll work as a partner.  It sucks, but at this point she needs to start thinking about her next move and get those feelers out there.  They're not being loyal to her, so she owes them no loyalty.  

I get working somewhere for a long time.  I've been with my company almost 17 years.  But I also know that if they decided my job was no longer needed, that I'd be out on my ass.  I have no illusions about what they 'owe' me. 
  • I hate when people say "you should smile more" Seriously. Irks me beyond belief.
    What does smiling more have to do if you'll make partner or not?

LW should find a new firm.