Wedding Woes

Talk to the adoption agency and stop talking to her mom

Dear Prudence,
My husband and I have been preparing to adopt a baby from “Anita” for six months. We’ve paid Anita’s medical bills and an allowance so Anita didn’t have to work too hard during her final trimester. She’s due in six weeks, and we discovered by accident that at some point she’d changed her mind. Anita will be keeping her baby. It’s a devastating but not unexpected loss. My husband and I wish Anita well, because we want her baby to succeed, but we also want to sever our relationship with her. Anita won’t be able to afford the same level of care without our money, and her mother has accused us of being heartless. We’re torn. We can’t afford to support Anita and pursue adoption. Are we obligated to continue paying for her medical expenses?

—Paying for Baby

Re: Talk to the adoption agency and stop talking to her mom

• LW was paying for something they felt was going to be theirs and then things change? Why keep paying.

100% talk to the agency and stop talking to the mom. Advise "Anita" that since things change, you are supporting them anymore. Wish them well and that's it.
  • I'm pretty sure there was an episode of Sex and the City this happened as well ....
  • I'm pretty sure there was an episode of Sex and the City this happened as well ....
    Yep, when Charlotte and Harry brought the couple from Alabama(?) to NYC.  They used them as an opportunity to leave town and see New York, but had no intention of adopting the baby.  
  • mrsconn23 said:
    I'm pretty sure there was an episode of Sex and the City this happened as well ....
    Yep, when Charlotte and Harry brought the couple from Alabama(?) to NYC.  They used them as an opportunity to leave town and see New York, but had no intention of adopting the baby.  
    Thought so! At the time I didn't think it was possible for people to do that {naive child thinking people were honest ....}