Honeymoon Discussions

Honeymoon in Greece

Hi Everyone,
I am getting married next June and we are planning to go to Greece for our honeymoon. We will start in Athens for 3 nights. My fiance and I both love history and culture so very excited to spend some time there. After Athens we will spend 3 nights in Santorini. We then have 4 nights we want to spend on another island. I do not want to go to Mykonos. I want something less crowded and more traditional Greek. I've heard good things about Naxos and also Crete. If we do decide to stay in Crete, what area is best to base ourselves?
Thanks!

Re: Honeymoon in Greece

• I am going to Crete in a couple weeks. I will report back once I have some experience. :)
  • Yes! Please do and have a fantastic trip :)
  • I absolutely loved Naxos. It was an easy ferry ride from Santorini, full of empty beaches and delightful villages and the best food I had in Greece by far. 
  • Were the beaches empty or did they have chairs and beach bars? Is it possible to do a day trip to Mykonos from Naxos? I would like to see it without staying on it. I also heard the beaches in Naxos were some of the best in Greece. Where else did you go while in Greece?
  • Were the beaches empty or did they have chairs and beach bars? Is it possible to do a day trip to Mykonos from Naxos? I would like to see it without staying on it. I also heard the beaches in Naxos were some of the best in Greece. Where else did you go while in Greece?
    They had both- empty and chairs and bars. I'm not sure about a day trip to Mykonos, sorry. We also went to Santorini, which was spectacular, and spent a couple days in Athens.