Wedding Customs & Traditions Forum

Replacing the “Father Daughter” Dance

So I’m new to The Knot and don’t know how active these community posts are but I’m hoping I’ll find some inspiration here because I haven’t found much from good ole Google. 

My my father died a little over three years ago and my fiancé doesn’t have much of a relationship with his father. Because of this, I most likely won’t be having a father daughter dance. I don’t really have anyone I can substitute in for my father either. So I’m looking for ideas on what I can do to replace it. I don’t mind taking it out all together but I just wanna see what other ideas are out there and what other people have done before I make that decision. :) 

Re: Replacing the “Father Daughter” Dance

• I would just limit your spotlight dance to you and your FI and let it go at that.
  • So I’m new to The Knot and don’t know how active these community posts are but I’m hoping I’ll find some inspiration here because I haven’t found much from good ole Google. 

My my father died a little over three years ago and my fiancé doesn’t have much of a relationship with his father. Because of this, I most likely won’t be having a father daughter dance. I don’t really have anyone I can substitute in for my father either. So I’m looking for ideas on what I can do to replace it. I don’t mind taking it out all together but I just wanna see what other ideas are out there and what other people have done before I make that decision. :) 
    Just skip it. If there isn’t an easy natural solution it will seem forced.
  • CMGragainCMGragain member
    First Anniversary First Comment First Answer 5 Love Its
    edited February 2018
    So I’m new to The Knot and don’t know how active these community posts are but I’m hoping I’ll find some inspiration here because I haven’t found much from good ole Google. 

I am sorry for your loss.  My father died ten years before my wedding, and Mom was married and divorced between that time.