Wedding Woes

Use your words, 2.

Dear Prudence,

I am an attorney with extensive contract experience across a range of subjects. Because of this, many friends and family members ask me to help them with personal matters such as reviewing leases, employment contracts, even prenuptial agreements. For the past few years, I have obliged. Am I able? Absolutely. Do I render good advice? Certainly. Do they pay me? No! What are kind but firm words to tell them I no longer work for free?

—Not Your Lawyer

Re: Use your words, 2.

• Everyone has this.   My dad's an electrician and laments how often he was asked to install a ceiling fan or do work in someone's home all for free.   He especially loves requests in the summer that involve being in an attic. 

My mom was a school teacher and the assumption was that she had nothing to do on snow days or the summer and was free to watch kids, take elderly parents grocery shopping or to doctor appointments or whatever. 

You start to figure out if these are requests by people who are close and therefore you'd happily do things for free or are these people only calling you when something is needed.   If it's the latter then just say, "Sure I can do that.   My general rate for something like this is $X.   Send me what you need and I can evaluate it and give you a quote. " 

• “Happy to help. Make an appointment with my office and we can discuss fees and timelines”. 
  • I’m just really glad my friend, who works in I.T. Actually loves helping me with my computer problems.   It would seriously depend on how close LW is to these people if she wants to charge them.  I think there’s some people you just don’t charge if they ask for help. 

• banana468 said:
    mrsconn23 said: