Michigan-Detroit
Options

Struggling newbie

Hi ladies, I'm a newbie to the knot and I apparently have no idea what I'm doing. Can anyone give me a couple pointers on where to start? So far I have put the budget tool to use and am attempting to tackle the giant checklist ahead of me. I'm overwhelmed to say the lease : ) My sweetie and I are getting married June 25, 2011. Also- I am trying to switch my knot account over to a new email account. I attempted to edit my email under the "my account" tab, but kept receiving a message about my email already being in use. Any sugestions??
I'm not normally this incompetent- I swear!

Re: Struggling newbie

• Options
    emarston1emarston1 member
    Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    First of welcome and congratulations!  Second of all, breath.  It'll all be ok!

I think you're already on the right track with your budget which is the first thing you should work on.  No sense is checking out vendors that are way out of your price range.  Now that you've got your budget estimated, you should start looking for a ceremony and reception location.  Use the sticky note at the top of the Detroit board for ideas.  It is a fantastic reference for all things related to vendors.

Once you've got the ceremony and reception location, you can start booking other vendors (photography, flowers, bakery, etc.)  Just take things one at a time and you'll be ok.

I'm not too much help when it comes to the e-mail issue except to say that the knot always has technical glitches so I wouldn't be surprised if it was their issue.
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    Hi, and welcome!  We would all love to hear more of your plans!  This is a great board - I ask a lot of random questions, and get useful responses (even if they don't always agree with each other, it gives me things to think about).