Catholic Weddings

Friday wedding in Lent?

okay, this might be a stupid question, but as I am new to Catholicism, forgive me. If my wedding date falls on a Friday in lent, we still have to abstain from meat, right? Weddings aren't like feast days or anything, are they? Thanks!

Re: Friday wedding in Lent?

• jazzybaccjazzybacc member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Honestly, I have no idea, but I know many churches discourage getting married during lent, period, not just on Fridays.  Do you have to have this date?  I would discuss it with your officiant, you'll get the most accurate response for your exact situation.
    BabyFetus Ticker
  • edited December 2011
    I know our parish doesn't allow it. Lent is intended to be a very solemn season and a wedding isn't solemn.  
  • kitkat2011kitkat2011 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    To my understanding weddings are sometimes allowed during the Lenten season, but are discouraged. There are some Catholic churches that will not marry anyone during Lent, and others place restrictions on decorations, colors, etc. I would definitely check with the church and who will be presiding over your marriage. I am also pretty sure that you would still have to abstain from meat unless you could get special permission, which would probably be difficult. Best of luck with this though!
  • edited December 2011
    That's kind of what I thought. I know our parish allows weddings in lent, but I'm now really considering pushing it back into ordinary time. It only just occured to us today. Thanks for the thoughts, ladies!
  • edited December 2011
    The church we were married in didn't allow it due to the Fish Fry's and all.
  • newlyseliskinewlyseliski member
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011