Wedding Hair, Makeup, & Beauty Forums
Options

Question-Mixing Business with Pleasure

I am very close to several of my cousins so they have roles in my wedding in so shape or form.  One of my cousin's is a hairdresser and naturally will be doing my hair.  I already have a gift on mind but wonder if whether I should still pay her for the services provided. 

On one hand she's like a big sister to me and you don't really pay your sister to do things for you.  I mean I won't take money for babysitting my younger sister's daughter!

On the other hand-by profession she is a hairdresser and that is her income.

Knowing my cousin-as this is her business practice-she gives steep discounts for family so if I do pay her I know she will give a really cheap price.  But even then I still give pretty big "tips" so that I pretty much wind up payin the listed price and then some.

So my question is Should I still pay her big or just give her a gift and call it good?
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Question-Mixing Business with Pleasure

• Options
    We have a friend doing our photography for free.  He is going to give me the CD's of the photos after it's all done.  However... we're still paying him (and his wife).  

If you have it in your budget, give her an "honorarium."  That's like a check for people who aren't charging, like your family friend.  

Our officiant isn't charging us either... but we're still going to pay him for his time (doing pre-marital counseling) and giving him an honorarium for the day-of. 
    July 16, Our Wedding Day, is also International Juggling Day!
  • Options
    It depends on how it was decided, but even so, it never hurts to offer. If she offered it as a gift, then you can probably just give her a really nice thank you gift. If, however you brought it up, then you shoudl also bring up the fee.